Creative trip to New York City!

September 15, 2008 at 7:28 pm Leave a comment

Last week the Creative Team I work with at GPTMC took a day trip to NYC! Although I live just two hours away in Philly, I’ve never been to the awesome museums up there, like the MoMA and they Whitney. We started out at the Cooper-Hewitt Museum. They had rooms full of watercolor paintings so detailed and intricate that I had to stand an inch away just to see if it wasn’t a photo! They also had an exhibit of old fabric, wallpaper and china patterns. One of the coolest things was china test-plates with all the different colors smeared on them in a color-wheel pattern to see how the colors would dry.

Our next stop was the Whitney. Right in the lobby there was the car designed by Buckminster Fuller, called the Dymaxion. Designed in the 1930’s, it was a revolutionary new design of the automobile. It had three wheels, got 30 mpg, could carry 11 people, and was built to eventually fly when the right technology came along. Buckminster Fuller also designed Dymaxion houses and communities, which were designed to be extremely energy efficient. His work was a-m-a-z-i-n-g. We also saw some crazy things there from artist Paul McCarthy (no, not the beetle). He’s a contemporary artist who works with space, perception and breaking the molds of our traditional reality, just check out this site to see what I mean! There was a huge spinning box with a desk chair inside that spun by itself from the force, even after the box stopped spinning, and a crazy setup of projectors and camera that showed distorted projections of everyone in the room.

The MoMA was the highlight of my day. I finally got to see several paintings that I had studied in college. There was Picasso, Cezanne, Monet, Pollock, Klimpt, Warhol, Rothko, Dali.. just to name a few. It was like walking through a textbook of artists who all had major impacts on society. I was in awe. My favorites, and this surprised me, were the Pollock works. The images online haven’t done these humongous, incredible works justice. They move and flow; just looking at them DOES something to you, and hooks you in. I was transfixed by One: Number 31 for at least 15 minutes, just from the amazing movement the painting had.
I have a “thing” against taking photos of art in museums with a camera, because no image of these paintings does them justice, and if I want to remember any image of it, I want it to be the original. However, I made an exception and took a bunch of mini-pics on my camera phone so I could have a rotation of backgrounds from the best artists in the world!
I can’t wait to go back to NYC soon and catch the exhibits at the Guggenheim.

I’m currently working on a handful of pieces. One, a skyline for one of my Philly friends. Skylines are a popular choice for locals, way to have pride! Two, a huge painting of a nebula which is turning out quite well. This is one of my favorite things about being commissioned for work, is that I get to paint things I never would have if someone hadn’t asked. Third, a pro-bono piece for my friend who works for Community Housing Services in Lansdale, PA. They’re celebrating their 25th anniversary in mid-October and having a live-auction to raise awareness and funds for the organization. I’ll be donating a piece to be auctioned off there; hopefully it will bring in a lot for them!

Entry filed under: Featured Artists, Miscellaneous Blogs & Information. Tags: , .

Winner of the Free Painting! Interstellar Philly

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Twitter Updates

  • RT @commondsneyfan: I am a(n): ⚪️ Man ⚪️ Woman 🔘 Annual Passholder Looking for ⚪️Men ⚪️Women 🔘I'm an annual passholder 2 hours ago
  • RT @erinruberry: This woman asked a shelter for "the oldest dog you have, and the one no one wants to adopt." She brought home Jake. https… 2 hours ago
  • RT @gnrosenberg: Hello there. May I show you the greatest real estate listing in human history? This is a thread about it. https://t.co/mR… 2 hours ago

Acha Gallery on Flickr!

Categories

wordpress stats plugin