Go Figure!

September 30, 2008 at 7:27 pm 1 comment

So although I love painting, drawing people is not my strong point. Actually I’d hardly even consider it a point at all, that’s how bad my aversion to drawing people is. As you might have noticed, hardly any of my paintings have people in them. So, it was time to get OVER it! I started taking classes at Fleisher Art Memorial in South Philly, and to my elation I’m getting better! For our first class, the teacher had the model stand in the middle of the room and began drawing his shape with tons of messy triangles, circles and ovals. So I’m thinking to myself.. ok, this guy is suppose to teach art class? But in the blink of an eye, all those triangles and circles turned into a perfectly shaded person. This guy was good. He let us off on our own, and by using his technique; it really wasn’t that hard drawing the people! The following week he taught us how to divide the body up into 8 equal parts, that should all equal the size of the person’s head. By measuring with our thumbs and pencils, this system helped put body parts where they belong. Here are some sketchbook pictures of my progression of not being able to draw people, to not being too bad at it! And here’s a cool Youtube video that breaks down the fundamentals of figure drawing!

Also remember that this Oct. 3rd is FIRST FRIDAY again! Hurray! My art is still on display at The Big Green Earth Store AND Pinot (both on Market Street between 2nd and 3rd). There will be a few new pieces at each place so be sure to stop by! I’ll be in the Old City area early and then heading off to Manayunk for a friend’s birthday, so I hope I see you there!

Entry filed under: Miscellaneous Blogs & Information, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Interstellar Philly October First Friday Review

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. christine macolino  |  October 1, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    Britt, you’re getting so good at the figure drawings I can’t keep up with you! I loved the wine cubism picture PINOT used to advertise for your show on Friday! I’ll do my best to make it to this show, but I’ll definitely be at your November show!
    Paint on 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Twitter Updates

  • RT @commondsneyfan: I am a(n): ⚪️ Man ⚪️ Woman 🔘 Annual Passholder Looking for ⚪️Men ⚪️Women 🔘I'm an annual passholder 2 hours ago
  • RT @erinruberry: This woman asked a shelter for "the oldest dog you have, and the one no one wants to adopt." She brought home Jake. https… 2 hours ago
  • RT @gnrosenberg: Hello there. May I show you the greatest real estate listing in human history? This is a thread about it. https://t.co/mR… 2 hours ago

Acha Gallery on Flickr!

Categories

wordpress stats plugin