Online Media Boot Camp!

March 19, 2009 at 5:08 am 4 comments

Hi Everyone!

This is my acceptance speech for Online Media Boot Camp! It’s being run by one of my friends, Beth Harte, so if you talk to her, tell her to pick me! 🙂

But let’s get down to Why I Want to Go!  Several reasons really.   First, I love Social Media, down to it’s core.  I just got back from a Philly Tweet Up (#Phillytweetup!) and love how it brings people, and more importantly, IDEAS, together.

I’ve always been a Facebook user, picture uploader, and in the way-back days, a Xanga blogger..  but it wasn’t until I started using several mediums together to promote my art blog (what you’re reading!) that I really understood and grew to appreciate all of Social Media’s possibilities!  I’ve seen this grow from a blog to First Friday events, all through the power of the Internet!

The second big reason I want to go to Online Media Boot Camp, is that I just got the honor of being on the Social Media Team at my work, Independence Blue Cross.  I’m SO EXCITED about this and can’t wait to get started on all the possibilities that SM has in store for this company, and more importantly, the health care field!  I’m so impressed with how Humana has been LiveTweeting their meetings and asking the Twitter world for feedback, how hospitals are LiveTweeting surgeries, and how soon all health records will be online.  I really think this is an opportunity for us to be part of the difference this country will see in health care in the years to come.  So in reference to Online Media Boot Camp – I want to know all there is to know about SM, and have the opportunity to learn from some of the best, so that I can bring these skills back to help my team move forward in the best way possible!

(note: I will cover all travel costs, and I will attend!! -> www.onlinemediabootcamp.com)

And because the majority of my Social Media love came from my love of painting – I did one in honor of the event!  Follow me through the process…

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Follow Me on Twitter! Au Revoir!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. aditya452010  |  March 19, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    All great ideas but I would also add another item to it: consider doing a virtual event. Virtual events are a great way to stay in front of customers, generate new leads and help close business already in the pipeline. There are simple very inexpensive ways to hold virtual events and there are more robust, feature rich and scalable solutions (like InXpo, ON24 or Stream57) that are great for putting on events that include virtual exhibits, informative conference sessions, product demos as well as networking with attendees. While people are reluctant to travel, they are highly likely to attend an event that they can attend from their desk. Even if you are simply doing a product demo or better yet, offering some educational information in say a webinar or webcast, a virtual event will get you more exposure and more leads very cost effectively. Visit http://www.virtualedge.org to find out more about how to do this and locate virtual event providers.

    Reply
  • […] Blog Post: Online Media Boot Camp! […]

    Reply
  • 3. storyspinn  |  March 20, 2009 at 6:46 pm

    Britt,

    I have to say, this is by far the most creative effort I’ve seen (everything you’ve done so far) for the OMBC tickets! Great work, awesome painting.

    Now I got to ask, do you sell your artwork?

    ~Li Evans

    Reply
    • 4. achagallery  |  March 20, 2009 at 7:38 pm

      Thank you, Li! I absolutely sell my artwork! Whether you saw a specific painting that you liked, or had another idea and was thinking of a custom one, just shoot me an email at miller.brittm(at)gmail.com and let me know!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4 other followers

Twitter Updates

Acha Gallery on Flickr!

photo-7

photo-8

photo-9

photo-6

photo-5

More Photos

Categories

wordpress stats plugin